Wall tank project advice (bracing advice please)

mcrudd

Hubby came home with this fishtank, he picked it up at our local inorganics LOL. Its measurements are 140cm lenth, 71cm Hight and 20cm deep. We filled it right to the top, no leaks, but it will deffinetly need some sort of bracing as the glass at the top was bowing out quite a bit, enough to frighten us and empty it out quickly. :o

So here is the tank

001.jpg

and this is where I aim to use it. We will of course strengthen everything to be able to hold the tank. I want to put it above my fireplace just against the wall, not in the wall.

002-2.jpg

This is my first time ever attempting anything like this. So could you guys please advice me if it will be worth it, or will it cost me an arm and a legg. My hubby is very handy with welding and that sort of thing, so that is not a problem. What type of fish would look nice, I take it, that it will have to be small fishies because of the depth.

How heavy will this turn out, I know its 198litres from a volume calculator

All in all I just need tons and tons of advice please, I feel super dumb in this whole process, I don't even know what questions to ask, but excited the same time :nilly:

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If its about 200L then itll weigh in around 200kg or more. 1L of water is 1kg.

I dont have much else i can contribute at this stage :wink: good luck

Hey that is something I did not know, so its all good :slfg:

Nightmare to clean I'd imagine if you insert it into the wall. What happens if it springs a leak? Will it damage the wall linings?

Sorry I meant that we are going to put it against the wall since its not as broad as other tanks. We don't want to put it into the wall. Imagine it sitting on the wooden mantle part of the fireplace. Its about the same width