Goldfish spitting out food - anyone got ideas as to why?

wordhappy

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to fishkeeping (had my tank about eight months or so) and have had a few setup issues in that time. Currently my goldfish are looking healthy, nice happy dorsal fins, active, all looking good except for what appears to be a single missing scale low on the left flank of one goldfish, and what appears to be a tiny glob of white cream on the anal fins of another.

They have been getting on just fine with no major problems for some time now... but for the last week they have been spitting out any food they are offered. The same brand of flake food they have been eating for ages is not good enough anymore. They eventually eat it (they must do because it goes and I do eventually see them eating without spitting) - they're enthusiastic about meal times as usual but a couple of seconds after taking in a flake they will spit it back out...

Of course I am aware that my main problem is the tank size (three very small - 2-3 inch - goldfish in a 38L tank) - when I started out, I was under the impression it was a very good tank size for up to about five goldfish... since learned that was wrong, but can't afford a new tank so I am doing the best I can with filtration, water changes, and generally keeping a good eye on things.

Anyone got any ideas as to what might be the problem here?

Thanks in advance!

:spop:

I'm sure there will be people on here that will happily offer up a larger tank (either cheap or if you're really lucky, free). I've got one here that I'ld give you but it's only 50L and transport will be a killer.

In regards to your fish spitting out food, how old is the food? most fish food is recommended to be used in under 3 months, before they lose some of the nutrients? I'm not an expert on the matter, I just remember feeling absolutely gutted when I found out, since I had bought big packs of food.

Hope this helps