Goldfish Art??

Gannet

like this artist, I too am an artist. My next display is in a gallery in Wellington, and the subject is zebra plecs in many individual biotype tanks. the plecos shall then go to a breeding facility somewhere in NZ. No MAF interference.. nothing. its that easy :evil:

for those of you who did not pick up on the sarcasm. I am not an artist. I in fact have trouble drawing a straight line.

So what about quarantine???

Or does that get thrown out the door because its art?

Someone should write a letter to John Key to complain. :roll:

Huge carbon footprint for arts sake.

Illegally importing live organisms

She could have at least bought in some madagascan lace plant for me. :wink:

Aparently they lied. When MAF found out and asked about their quarantine plans, they realised they couldn't do what they said so the fish actually took off from Auckland, flew around there until they had been in the air the same length of time they would have if they had flown from Aus to NZ, then landed again :roll:

I have received the following email from Lesley Patston (MAF) to clear up the issue.

I am a communications adviser with MAF Biosecurity New Zealand - you may recall we had some contact a while back when we had the situation with the GM danios.

I'm emailing now with regard to an item that appeared on TV3 news last night on an 'art work' whereby 70 goldfish, each in their own fishbowl, were supposedly flown to New Zealand from Australia. I want to assure fish enthusiasts and those in the fish importing business that the story - I gather to promote an art festival or event - was in fact an elaborate hoax.

I have heard that some in fish circles were concerned to see such an alleged importation, given that goldfish are not a permitted import.