Fish room build

camtang

Over the course of the year I am planning on building a fish room in my garage (as some of you may already know)

On Monday I am going to be clearing out the garage as a start, it is going to be a 3 or 4 day job I suspect and I will take before and after photos.

I already have 2 questions that have been bugging me so I thought I would ask for suggestions and help so

Issue number one:I have acess to both batts and sheets of poly, what is the better of them to use to insulate? I was thinking of kkinda sandwiching in the pink batts between poly. so poly nailed to the frame work on each side and batts in the midle. would this be most effective?

Issue number two: The garage has a window, do I fully remove the window? get it replaced with double glazed joinery( I am a joiner by trade so will only need to pay for materials) I am heating via a heat pump courtasy of Caryl :bow: (many thanks once again) so will need to keep a hole for that to fit into. If I was to go to DG, is a opening window a smart idea or could that just add extra unwanted drafts?

Thank you all for now

• Replies 114
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think windows are only useful if you are growing plants and if the light is from above. The more insulation you put in the better but I would look at trying to make the wall linings more serviceable than polystyrene. My advice would be to instal as much volume of water as possible as it acts as a heat sink.

you could make up panels of batts and polystyrene cutting strips of poly the thickness of the batts and gluing it to sheets of poly like a joist in a wall

Ive read on here its best to cover the poly with polythene sheeting so it cant get moisture into it . you could use clear if you didnt like the black . as for the window if your not going to use it for the heat pump just cover it up with batts and poly