My LDA72 have spawned!

fishy-fish

So I was cleaning my 400L african mbuna tank which also houses a trio of Ancistrus Triradiatus and I noticed a little orange ball while I was syphoning up poo so I took a look under a large piece of slate and BINGO there is my male LDA72 guarding a HUGE clutch of eggs! :happy2: Upon further inspection most of the eggs were beginning to wriggle so I made the decision to siphon them out and put them in their own tank. There must be close to 150 fry! Could it be possible that both females laid their eggs together for the male to guard? It just seems like a really big spawn! :o

I left the male in the big tank but should I have moved him to the fry tank? There are still a couple of egg clusters stuck together - will they be OK without the male? This is my first time raising pleco fry, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I will post some pics tomorrow if I get around to it. :thup:

What where these fish sold to you as?, it is very unlikely these are more than Ancistrus sp3. Not many Ancistrus are pure strains in captivity and very very few are wild caught due to being relatively dull and cheap in comparison to most wild caught loricariidae.

Congratulations none the less!

Oh Man, what is it with you and all your fish spawning :facepalm: :slfg:

I personally would have moved dad aswell, they take wonderful care of their eggs, can you pop him in the tank that you now have the eggs in??

I bought a breeding trio (complete with eggs) of ya normal BN's, about a month ago, (not sure if yours are normal :slfg: ) pic on google of yours looks very similar to mine, a common bristlenose, the eggs where just at wriggler stage, made a breeding tank out of a oversized lunchbox with holes in the bottom and sides etc, floated it in the tank along with dad his cave and the bubs.

Came home the other day to find dad had gone into the smaller hole in his cave and clearly couldn't get back out :facepalm: so he is now DEAD :an!gry