where to fly rc plane

Fishie123

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

At Highbrook Park there is an airstrip and a club dedicated to flying them, I often see guys there when I am walking the dogs. Click here for a map, you can see the brown airstrip mown into the grass on the little peninsula bit by the estuary towards the bottom left of the picture. You get there by going to the end of El Kobar Drive and turning right, and driving to the end of the road.

I got one of these beauti!

You realize, I hope, that those are far from a beginner plane, right? Most noobs buy a plane totally inappropriate for a beginner, think "OMG, I have this awesome plane this is going to be so cool!" Crash the plane after about a 2 second flight, demolish it and then give up.

I've been flying for about 7 years and I'd be a bit unconfident about flying those.

Its my first time flying one of these. So is there not set location where I can fly them?

Go to http://www.modelfly.org.nz, click on the clubs link on the left hand side and find a club near you. See if you can get someone at the club to give the plane its maiden flight. At least then they maybe can get the plane trimmed out and help you fly it. That way you'll hopefully at least not be fighting a plane that doesn't even fly straight while trying to learn how to fly.

:slfg: cheap? How is that cheap ahahaha,

You can't even get a mid grade transmitter for that cheap. Buying stuff locally it's easy to spend $100 on a small electric motor, another $100 for a speed controller, $50-100 for a battery, $50 for receiver, $120 for 4 servos etc. All those components are reusable and good quality. If you're getting an entire setup for $200 the parts are probably cheap and unreusable. You crash the plane you throw everything away.

You can get reasonable quality but a bit of a gamble parts from Hobby City in Taiwan, but it's about $30+ for shipping.