Hi I'm new to all this

MorknMindy

My husband and I have just gone mad and purchased our first tank, neither of us have ever had tropical fish before so are very excited. Tomorrow we are going out to get some fish so if anyone has any ideas as to what fish might be the best to start with please yell. They will need to be hearty little things as I am sure we are going to muck up often.

Welcome to the fishroom M&M

congrats on getting into the hobby, what size tank have you brought

only bit of advice, go slowly, hard to do but read lots and take your time, best way to avoid trouble

platies are nice easy fish to keep and they breed like rabbits, but need to be kept in a school.

Mark

Welcome morknmindy,

I wouldn't put fish in a brand new tank, it needs to cycle firast and let the conditions settle, there is a sectuion here that tells you all about cycling, I can't find the link but one of the others will.

you can also find some of us in the chatroom most nights from bout 8.30-9.00pm

Ballistic.

Hello Mindy

Welcome to the NZ Fishroom, hope you enjoy your experience here :) . If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Firstly, how big is your tank? We would love the details :wink:

And secondly, before you put a lot of fish in, make sure your tank is "cycled". This means establishing colonies of bacteria in your filter that will break down fish wastes into non-harmful material. The biggest thing that gets new people into trouble is adding too many fish too fast. Make sure you add your fish slowly.

Tomorrow we are going out to get some fish so if anyone has any ideas as to what fish might be the best to start with please yell.

If you want hardy fish that are easy to maintain, go for guppies. They are good hardy fish, and they also breed very very very easily, and will be good first time fishes.

If you have any questions, feel free to post in these forums.

Thanx

breaka\/\/ay

Welcome to the fishroom M&M