Q's to do with silica sand and a variety of other things.

snapperhead

OK, hmmm where to start? :cofn: I'm also not a beginner and not an expert.

Well I just got a new tank that is just for my cold water inhabitants. I am looking into getting freshwater shrimp/mussels, borneo suckers, mountain minnows, more goldfish and more snails.

OK the questions, are all of these compatible together and along with silica sand as the substrate?

I've read that silica sand will need to stirred up from time to time because of harmful gases such as methane. How often does this has to be done? And how can it be done if it is planted with established plants with roots? How can I prevent the sand from getting sucked up into the filters?

Also is silica sand a good choice for pleco fish? (pleco is in tropical tank)

A few comments about the intended setup

fantails and hillstream loaches (borneo sucker) really like quite different flow rates. I just setting up a tank for mine with much more flow - 3200l/h in a 50l tank, see viewtopic.php?f=4&t=59465

Read up on our freshwater mussels as Sophia said in the other thread - they can be very difficult to keep feed.

Freshwater shrimp (our native one is Paratya curvirostris) are cool, but often become live food

I wouldn't worry about a silica sand substrate, I have a deep sand substrate in one of my tanks that never gets stirred up

fantails and hillstream loaches (borneo sucker) really like quite different flow rates.

I have a large piece of driftwood that separates about half of the tank, with a powerful filter that is on one side of the tank that has a high amount of bubbles being pumped out at the same time. The other side of the tank is quite calm.

Read up on our freshwater mussels as Sophia said in the other thread - they can be very difficult to keep feed.