Hi.....

jan3y11

Hi all.

My partner and I are from Tauranga and are in the process of setting up to breed cichilds. He has a plan to set up a rack that holds 6 60L tanks and run them from a sump. :dunno: Completely confusing to me, but he seems to know what he's up to! I'm completely new to tropical fish, while he's a bit of an old hand! We're both students at BOP Poly (him Marine Studies/me Conveyancing), so this is pretty much a way to make extra money and a way to distract ourselves from the studying we should be doing!!!!!

We currently have 4 tanks set up:

A 60L community with 3 Neons, 5 baby Kribensis (Pelvicachromis pulcher), a lonely little male Apistogramma trifasciata (unfortunately his mate died the day after we got them, but we're very keen to replace her!), 3 Golden Bristlenose and we just added a pair of Wild Kribensis (Pelvicachromis taeniatus) which I am super excited to start breeding! :bounce:

A cute little 20L tank with a few Platties and a random Swordtail.

Another 60L tank which is just waiting on a heater and will become our cichlid tank, bring on the Electric Yellows!

And..... A 40L tank which I have set-up in contemplation of breeding Axolotls.

Eventually we're gonna be asking heaps of questions about sumps, so hopefully ya'll will be able to help us!

:wave: Another from Tauranga??? Must be something in the water up there (and not from the Rena either!)

I understand the setup but not sure how you plan to make extra money from fish keeping.

Welcome to The Fishroom.

Note the Bay Fish & Reptile Club has a meeting coming up this Sunday and you would be most welcome...

17th June 2012, and it is by New World Supermarket in Brookfield. This is directions from Shell or Z in Bethlehem.Shell Bethlehem

253B State Highway 2

Bethlehem, Tauranga 3110

1. Head east on Tauranga West Rd/State Highway 2 toward Bethlehem Rd

Continue to follow State Highway 2

Go through 1 roundabout

2. Take the Waihi Rd exit toward Otumoetai