New In Ashburton

KaZ38

Hi Everyone

I have just purchased a 60L tank and placed 3 Red Serpea in it. :happy2: They have been in for 2 days and they are swimming on the bottom not feeding. :( They are also not very red, do they become red as they grow bigger. I am very new to this, I have waited a week to place the fish in. They have some plants but I will need to build up more, limited in Ashburton though. These fish are a birthday present for my three children, and we do plan on getting more fish but I read it is best to wait and see what happens with these.

Any help for a newbie would be great.

Tank is cycled and was tested for everything before fish placed in, they have actually started eating but not from the top, I have to keep swirling the flakes to make them fall, so that they will eat. I have a feeling it is too bright and I need more plants.

Is the tank cycled? did you test for ammonia and nitrates?

Do a 10-20% water change now.

have a look here http://www.fnzas.org.nz/fishroom/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=6979/quote:sowmtc4w

Tank is cycled and tested, was all good when I placed fish in. Will do a water change tomorrow. They seem a bit more relaxed now, swimming as I would call it 'freely'. Eating now but only the flakes that fall down.

Tank is cycled and was tested for everything before fish placed in, they have actually started eating but not from the top, I have to keep swirling the flakes to make them fall, so that they will eat. I have a feeling it is too bright and I need more plants.

How did you cycle the tank in a week? It usually takes 4-6 weeks unless you used filter material from another cycled tank. If you just used that bacteria in a bottle they sell at pet shops, without an ammonia load, your parameters will all read 0 but your tank won't be cycled. You need to regularly check water parameters and do small daily water changes with dechlorinated tap water.