A few guppy questions from a beginner

aquadude

Hi all

some questions

A) how old does the fry have to be before you can sex them?

B) Approx at what age of the male fry does its colour in the back fin appear?

Thanks

I am a beginner just like you to :)

I'd like to know the same thing

My babies are nearly about a month old

and I see some of them have flicks of colours on their tails So I have taken that to be boys.?

Will be cool to see what the others have to say tho.

Hi :)

I used this website when I was first researching guppy breeding.

http://guppyplace.tripod.com/Breeding.html

The fry can be separated as early as 1 week if you look closely for the female's developing gravid spot - dark spot behind anal fin (this can be hard with blonde guppies as it is without pigment and comes up yellow). But like the article says, its unnecessary to be this proficient as the males do not develop their gonopodium (long anal fin) until about 3-6 weeks.

Some of my fry, especially the tuxedos/half-blacks, start developing their black body pigments almost immediately after birth. This is both for the males and females. The other colours like red, yellow, and blue start to come in later. Some females will also have flecks of colour or black in their tail, but the males will have more and their tails will start growing out larger. Yellow is usually present fairly early on ~1month. The blue is also fairly early when the light hits it because its iridescent. The reds and oranges come in last >2months. The males typically don't have a tail that reaches its full size and has all the colours in their glory till adulthood.