Tax Refunds

I've never filed a tax return until all these Tax Refund websites started popping up offering to do it for me (cos its too hard for me to do myself!)

I have a question though. According to Tax Refund.co.nz's calculations I keep ending up OWING money. Why???? It's not something I personally have control over, it comes out of my pay each fortnight! Is someone else stuffing up somewhere?! Over the last 5 years I owe a combined total of around $100! :evil:

im an accountant, this happens all the time, small ammounts payable each year from individuals only earning wage income.

basically to do with the IRD rates which employers deduct your PAYE. Its not an error.

If you are an individual with only wage income you do not have to file a tax return, sometimes u may get a small refund, sometimes you may have to pay a small ammount. Dont file tax return if you are doing a voluntary tax return and it shows up you owe a small ammount of money, the IRD will not follow it up.

(of course there are many factors as to weather you have to file a return or not, dont feel like covering those reasons right now :P )

im an accountant, this happens all the time, small ammounts payable each year from individuals only earning wage income.

basically to do with the IRD rates which employers deduct your PAYE. Its not an error.

If you are an individual with only wage income you do not have to file a tax return, sometimes u may get a small refund, sometimes you may have to pay a small ammount. Dont file tax return if you are doing a voluntary tax return and it shows up you owe a small ammount of money, the IRD will not follow it up.

(of course there are many factors as to weather you have to file a return or not, dont feel like covering those reasons right now :P )

But I'm on a salary. Does that make a difference?

wage/salary basically same diff

its income that gets taxed at source.