Importing guppies

PENEJANE

I am no expert on the subject but from watching the various topics on importing my best advice is forget it before you start :lol:

Overseas suppliers will only deal in big numbers (1000's).

You would need MAF approval which would entail Quarantine facilities etc etc.

Honestly NZKA have looked at it and found it almost unrealistic, private individuals have found the same thing.

Unless you wish to start your own Quarantine facility one of the biggest drawbacks has been found to be the cost of hiring tanks in licenced facilities. Even if you got around this the cost of the Guppys would skyrocket to the extent that they become tropical gold.

Hope this helps, I hate being a wet blanket but best you know the facts :hail::hail::hail:

Thanks for that

I guessed it was a far fetched idea or many would of done it by now. I would really like to get my hand on some albino guppies and more snakeskins but the LFS we have won't get certian guppies for us. Its more of a Pot Luck Bag of fish lol

but thanks for the heads up.

:bounce:

One big problem there though Werner. There is no way of me getting to chch and back lol and if I knew you were going I would of gotten a cheap tank off trademe for you to pick up (if you could).

How did you get them? Did you go up or did you get someone to post them down? I would love to get some more nice males and females. Our LFS isn't importing no more at the moment and relying on others to bring in theirs so the quality isn't very nice at the moment.

cheers

Hi Pj

I got someone to bring them back. They would have courierd them down next week but I could'nt wait :D

A bit expensive but worth it if you want to improve bloodlines.

I got 4 different males and some really nice females. Cost a bit but as you said, nothing in the lfs that I want at the moment.

Do you still have that nice male of yours?