my first native tank

TomGilberg

hi everyone...

my interest for native fish species has recently been awoken....

i have never kept native species of fish so there are many questions i have, dispite doing research.

firstly i would like to say that the native book from Stealla Mcqueen "the New Zealand Native Freshwater Aquarium" is a must for anyone with no experience. i thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

ok so now the idea that is manifesting in my fish finetic mind.

i have a 50L(approx) aquarium the dimension of which are 70Lx20Hx35D, i think this would be brilliant to recreate a "rifle aquarium" and also the native stream around the nelson area which are all relatively shallow, fast flowing and very rocky.

i would like to keep very hardy fish, so far my favourite being redfin, upland bully and native shrimp.

i am a student so cannot afford the luxury of a chiller, to counter the need for this i plann to only keep my native tank in the cooler months were the temp will not go over 20 C.

now for my questions....

a lid for this aquarium really is some thing important as it really affects the asthetics of it, because the tank is designed to look from aboce aswell....

i really would only do a native tank if i can use an inwards facing lip permanantly.

also how many bullies would be a good amount to keep...i would like to have low stock so that i can keep the water parameters at perfect.

can i mix and match as many bullie species as i like?

do bully males get aggressive if there are only males present?

do they look better in groups of the same species?

can bully and native shrimp co-exist happily?

what can you feed native shrimp?

thats all for now i guess....

please help me out... thanks

tom

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the native hobby.

Yes Stella's book is a good read, as are these forums.