Water cycling

Black Sabbath

Hi everyone, I am just getting into breeding tropical fish, I'd like to know a bit more about cycling, aging water. Due to Christchurch having such pure tap water is it neccesary to sit the water before putting in the tank, I dont believe in chemicals that condition water but maybe that is something I should consider using, Basically I am trying to promt a conversation regarding tank cleaning procedures and water conditioning to get some different opinions and to see if I am on the right track, I have a guppy breeding tank ( 200 litre ) and also a 200 litre tank for swords and my female bettas, Males are kept in that same tank in breeding boxes aswell as a few other small tanks for spawning barbs and bettas. Please help me understand the aging/cycling of water better, Bearing in mind I am in chch not the USA or somewhere with high amounts of chloride in the water. Cheers

I have done the same in the past with my goldfish and axolotls and never seen any stress caused but so many people look shocked when I tell them I didn't, I have begun to and only a month after i seemed to get finrot in my guppy tank, Im hoping this is a coincidence, Am treating with methblue as has worked well in the past for whitespot on my goldfish but it seems there are a lot of differing opinions on this aswell.

Yeah ofcourse, I did not put the question to well there I admit, I think I have a full grasp on cycling and since posting have found my answer to whether throwing some goldfish in there then an old filter until ammonia drops is enough. I have had differing opinions, some saying under no circumstances can you put your intended fish in a tank in less than a month and expect it to be cycled, I would like to think the way I have done it in 2 weeks with goldfish and the old filter is sufficient