Macronutrients

DubbieBoy

I have tried to get these in Wlg, Chemists aren't allow to sell chemicals any more (go figure), the other problem is the small amounts you need, chemical suppliers are only interested in selling Kg's of stuff. I was told to go to the uni lab and ask them nicely. I never did so don't know if it works.

As it happens, I work in a lab but I'd prefer to get my own stocks rather than 'borrow' (and our stock of K2SO4 is a bit low at the moment anyway). Sigma chemical suppliers have K2SO4 (250g) for A$26 (or 1kg for A$70). MgSO4.7H20 (a.k.a. epsom salts) is A$40 for 500g. But these lab grade chemicals are likely far purer than we require for our plant fertilisation purposes - I'm guessing folks must have an alternative, and cheaper, source - perhaps from a garden centre?

Warren - can you help?

Some pool shops have both too as they are hardness adjusting chemicals sometimes used in pools...

We're lucky here, there's an industiral chemical supplier. I get 4kg's of either for about $10.

I paid about $70 for all the chemicals I use to make my fertiliser about 5 years ago. I'm about half way though using them now. That works out at about $7 per year for fertiliser instead of $12-15 per week ($624-$780 per year). That's about 100 times cheaper to make your own... I'm dosing a 1200L tank so a lot of fertiliser is needed.