Howsit from Dunedin

Floater

Hey hey people, my name is Scott and I'm currently a student at Otago University doing a Bcom. The wheels have been set in motion for me getting a small tropical tank setup. Ordered a 60L 60x30x40 tank which should be here in a few weeks. I've kept tropical fish before, about 6 years ago now, I'm ashamed to say I didn't do a very good job of it. This time round I plan to research thoroughly before setting up as well as put in the necessary time and effort. I hope to one day get myself a really large tank and set it up with some discus, really beautiful fish in my opinion, will only happen though once I'm out of university and found myself a decent job to supply me with the doe to do a really good job of it! Should've probably made this post sooner but only just saw the Welcome forum!

**Edit** I was recommended to this forum by BlueMoon (who is my sister) she says you folks are a wealth of information and experience!

save some pennies, im a poor student and got 5 tanks :)

just have to sacrifice things, like excessive grog, not that you would know about that in dunners :wink:

Haha, I'm not so worried about the initial setup cost as I am about my power bill sky rocketing. The heaters and lights surely use a fair bit of power yeh?

Hi and welcome. I'm in year 10 (form 4 :roll: ) and I've got 2 tanks 8) and I didn't pay for either :o :lol: break out with the poly to make things cheaper in the way of heating.

Haha one step ahead of you :P already got myself a big 20mm thick piece, just waiting for the tank to arrive so I can cut it to size!

what size tank ya getting? stocking ideas?