Conference 2004 Update - Itinerary, Costs and Contacts

Warren

This is my first time to the forum, but as i have just received the conference details i have a couple of questions.

Question 1: There seems to be a huge difference if you miss out on the first 17 spots, an extra $300/person, and the discount for 80+ only $50/person

Question 2: The letter said "Due to the tradition of holding Conference at Queens Birthday Weekend, we have hit peak rates in Fiji. It also coincides with Australian school holidays"

If we are breaking tradition by going offshore why do we have to keep to Queens Birthday weekend if a couple of weeks later would have been cheaper. For our family of four the seven nights with spending and food will be approx $10,000 which is a hell of a lot more than was first indicated. In a previous forum it was said that by saving approx $100/month you would have enough in two years, for a family of four that is $400/month, yeah right!!

Question 3: As Auckland are the hosting club and it was their idea to have the conference offshore, and that it was going to be organised by John it seems strange that the travel centre used and payments to, is to a Hawkes Bay travel agent. Is Auckland still hosting it or has the federation taken over, if so why have clubs not been notified of the change.

Hello Dugong,

Question 1:

You seem to have missed the bit that says it's cheaper for families.

It's approx $1650.00 per adult + 2/3 airfare for kids and accommodation is free. Works out at $3300 + the kids airfares at approx $500 each. So for a typical family you're looking at $3300 + $1000 (2 Kids) + Spending money. That’s $4300. If you can spend $5900 in a week it will cost $10000. More realistically you'll spend $150 a day for a family = $1050 for the week. So a realistic total is more like $5350 - $5700 or about half of what you've stated.