Korthausae Yellows Spawning

Billaney

Hi Guys

I'm pretty new to Killies but trying my best :)

I've done a bit of reading on these guys and found out they like to spawning on the ground, in peat and the eggs can be removed , kept for a while then hatched ....this is what i think anyway , always ready to listern to more experiance breeders :)

Anyway i did not have any peat so i gave them a pot of fine sand at the bottom of there tank and they love it , so much i just watched them spawning in it. So my question is , " what do i do now ? "

all help would be great.

Thanks and here are some pictures of the action :wink:

normal_DSC_1559.JPG

normal_DSC_1600.JPG

normal_DSC_1603.JPG

normal_DSC_1604.JPG

normal_DSC_1605.JPG

normal_DSC_1606.JPG

Give them a week at this Paul then separate them and condition them for a week then back into it again.

After the first week, go over the base systematically and syphon the gravel, the eggs being lighter will go thru to your container.

Now make a bed of damp peat in a margie or a icecream container and place eggs digitally on the surface about 5 to 10 mm away from each other.(if they fungus they wont contaminate their neighbors).

Make sure the lid is a tight fit, label them with their name, and the day you put them in the peat, then go mark your breeding calender on two months later, don't let the peat dry out, so check it weekly and moisten if necessary.

Add water, and catch babies out in 24 hours.(after 2 mths incubation)

Remove peat and remaining eggs, and replace into it's container and wait for a fortnight and rewet.

This can be done until no more babies are seen.

About three times.

Boil peat to kill any eggs left and to sterilize it.

Then feed the babies on BBS, should be ready for sale, passing on or breeding in about 2 months.

Al

thanks guys , i'll leave it till mid next week ( time to buy some peat ) then do what Alan says and fingers crossed :)