Allow me to introduce myself

ben

Hi all!

Since I'm new here I thought I'd let you all know who I am, particularly seeing that now I've found a fishkeeping club after 18 months of wondering whether one existed in Wgtn! On that note, I'm sure a few flyers in pet stores wouldn't go astray. You guys have been hard to find!

I have been keeping fish seriously for about 2 years or so. Currently I have two tanks, one 10 gallon Tropiquarium, and a 50g display tank.

In the 10g I keep 3 juvenile Botia Hymenophysa (green tiger loach- stoked to find these guys a couple of months ago) and a bristlenose to keep the java fern algae free.

In the 50g I keep clown loaches and Botia Modesta (blue botia/orange-finned loach). I have two 2l bottles of diy co2 going on this tank and am very happy with the growth of my marble queen swords, twisted vallis, and stargrass. Unfortunately my java fern doesn't seem to do as well under the 3.25 watts per gallon in the 50g as it does in the 1.5 wpg of the 10g tank.

In the past I have bred guppies, kribs and electric yellows, and I am on the lookout for something else to breed - perhaps ancistrus.

I regularly frequent the american forums, in particular Loaches online, and Tom's Place. One of my favourite fish sites on the net would have to be The Skeptical Aquarist.

It's so good to find a forum in NZ! How many of you guys keep loaches? I would like to see a forum on this site for loaches, so long as enough of you keep them of course ... I'm also interested in finding out your favourite pet stores ... I'm so jealous of the shops I see in magazines like PFK and TFH. The shops I have visited in Wgtn have never impressed me very much. Do you guys buy a lot of livestock off stores, or do you do a lot of trading within the club?

Regardless, I look forward to spending some quality time here :)

Speak to you soon.

Ben

Hey there and welcome Ben.

Yep some of us keep loaches.