Does NZ have any nice discus.

Pauly

Hey people ,

Just a point of interest , where do we in NZ find nice discus .Most of the lfs's have colourless stunted fish , nothing that resembles the discus that we see in books or on other web sites .Sure there are people out there with nice healthy discus but what about veriety .Do the wholesale importers not see a demand for discus , or am I looking in all the wrong places .Also why are they so damn expensive, they are not the hardest aquarium fish to breed ,and if so why are there so many different strains all over the world , but only a few expensive verietys here .

Please help me find the " king of aquarium fishes " all I can find are pawns .

Pauly.

PS. check out simplydiscus.com to see what we are missing out on.

Hi Pauly

I have been keeping Discus for a few years and i know a couple others that also keep them .

I have to disagree in regaurds to the quaily of fish Discus availble in NZ . I have found especially over the last 12 months that there have been some really nice fish at shops . I know that goldfish bowl , hollywood , jansens and living waters have all had some execallant fish in stock , Maybe you are not looking in the right places .

Yes Discus are very expesive and are not that hard to keep . The same can be said for some of the more exotic catfish . If you want good quality you unfortanley need to pay .

Discus are easily bred but there aren't many people that i know breeding them anymore . Maybe people don't find them challingin g anymore or jst not interested in that side of these awsome fish . If there were local breeders surely the price would come down making discus more obtainable to fishy folk .

Yep discus are the king of the aquarium

Bugger !! I just wrote a whole chapter and then the server kicked me off.