Native Display Tank

AshleeL

Hi everyone - Im new to this forum although Ive been scrolling through all the forum topics for a while now, trying to learn as much as possible (and bailing Stella up on facebook at every opportunity). Myself and a colleague have set up a biotype display tank in the reception area of our workplace in an attempt to raise awareness of our native freshwater species. Unfortunately we had a disastrous first run, being complete newbies and ended up with a tank full of fish infected with whitespot. We ended up salting the tank for close to three months in order to get it under control, which we never fully did and eventually lost all of our fish to bacterial infection. We have now revamped the tank and are starting to restock it with fish (after rigorous quarantining!).

We have:

Aquarium: AquaOne Brilliance 150 (398L)  150W x 50D x 65cmH

Filter: Nautilus 1400

Chiller: Hailea 1/2hp

Substrate: mix of natural stones and substrate from a dry stream bed, aquarium gravel and white sand base

Fish: currently two female crans bullies, one juvenile koura, 20-odd shrimp and one juvenile inanga that was caught in the shrimp net. We also have around 500 snails of varying species, and numerous mayflies, caddisflies, dragonfly nymphs and any other freshwater insects we can get our hands on.

Plants: Watercress, Juncus spp, Chara fibrosa, Myriophyllum propinquum, Ottelia ovafolia, Azolla (probably A.pinnata), Liverwort spp, moss (I think Hypnodendron marginatum), Lilaeopsis novae-zealandiae and Ranunculus (I think R. marcropus)