Are Guppys Like Convicts

Travis & Vicki

i set up my computer tank yesterday, still has a few baby cons left in it, but put 3 female and 2 male guppys in there. there has been no heater in this tank, the temp is round 22, thismorning ive got baby guppys everywhere. do they breed like flys( or convicts ) or was it just dumb luck :oops:

I am new to this whole tank business but I have only had my guppies for just over a week and already two of them have had babies. I have managed to catch 10-12 babies so far and know that there could be up to 6 more swimming about the bottom of the tank. I don't know anything about Convicts but guessed it was also pure dumb luck :P .

Congratulations anyway.

Hi, yes guppys definetly breed easily and rapidly, depending on how big the convicts are and how well fed the cons and adult guppys are you may find the guppy fry disappearing as both will readily eat them. Some people put the fry into a seperate tank but i leave mine in with the parents and make sure the parents are fed well.