First planted tank. No clue what I'm doing!

critter_crazy

Hey guys, so after having a nose around the forum I am officially very jealous of all your tanks! :hail:

As I'm still pretty new to this I've never attempted to try a planted tank before (I have a bit of a brown thumb :o ) but now I'm feeling very inspired to do so.

Just wondering what you guys would recommend for a first timer? Gravel or sand? Also whats a couple of good begginers plants?

I was thinking I'd try small first in my 34L as it's already got the right lighting etc. and wouldn't cost too much if I screw up! :happy2:

Thanks!

You can start with a smaller tank, but they are usually harder to maintain (and not often cheaper to setup!); so I would recommend starting with a 80L+ tank to start off with.

At that size, flourite makes for a good substrate, and is fantastic for plants.

Apart from that have a look at the plant section of this forum, and have a read through some of the posts there (especially the ones that talk about light and CO2).

Once you have the light sorted, we can tell you what plants are a good match.

You can start with a smaller tank, but they are usually harder to maintain (and not often cheaper to setup!); so I would recommend starting with a 80L+ tank to start off with.

My largest tank is 60L :o

Like I say, very new with a very small budget lol

I'll have a look in the plants section :D

If it's only a 34L Tank I suggest paying ~$70 for a bag of flourish "nutrient rich" substrate from the shop, filling the tank to ~2inches, plant it well, then follow up with weekly water 50% changes and dry fertilizers (using Flourish liquid ferts = ridiculously expensive).

Dry fertilizers = powered form, you take a bit of tank water, mix up the appropriate amount and dump it back in the tank. There are calculators available freely on the internet that tell you how many t-spoons of powder to put in depending on water volume.