Hello

zeta

Hello, I thought it was about time to show my face. I've been lurking for a while.

I'm studying Mechanical Engineering at the University of Canterbury, and I've been keeping fish since the start of March 2002.

My tank is about 100L (30"x15"x15").

In it I have: 2x Pearl Gourami

2x Golden Angelfish

2x Albino Corys

2x Hoplo Catfish

2x Rosy Barbs

2x Kribensis

1x Bristlenosed Plecostomus

1x Clown Loach

1x Pakistani Loach

1x Kuhli Loach

All the fish were juvenile when I bought them, so none should be much older than 4 months. I love all the fish, except for the Rosy Barbs, they get on my nerves somehow...

There are photos of all the fish at

http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/refrewst/fish.html

I've been injecting CO2 using the yeast method, it works wonderfully. I've got a 3L juice bottle half-filled with water with a cup of sugar and a tsp of yeast, it's been steadily producing CO2 for at least 3 weeks, the plants are growing great and it keeps my usually high pH (~7.5) down to about 7.

I consider Kritter Kingdom on Blenheim Road to be my home petshop, they've been great.

My fish-keeping experience hasn't been entirely trouble-free so far, so I look forward to getting lots of help from you guys!

Zeta

Hi Zeta,

Welcome. I liked your photos too. Is your fish a bristlenose or a plec? They are two different fish. A bristlenose will only grow 15cm but the plec will grow over 40cm!

Rosy barbs are a shoaling fish and would be happier in a group of 6 or more. Perhaps they would not get on your nerves so much if they were in a nice group. :D

I like the hoplos as they are a nice chunky fish with personality.

Hi Zeta, Caryl,

Can't see the bristles, but it seems to be a Ancistrus hopogenys, but whatever he/she is, it looks real contented :)

So Caryl, how DO we distinguish a true Plecostomus from the others, apart from the name, there are so many variations??

Bill :)

Another Christchurch person :D YAY YAY :P