what makes them grow?

killifan

I'm new to tropicals and am learning lots here! Mt plants just aren't growing though. Don't know their names, the smallleafed ones are going pale and some are growing a fluffy dark substance on them as are the 2 little grass plants, but the broader leafed one isn't. How do you feed plants in a tank? Should I leave the light on all day when I'm at work, (the tank gets light but not direct sun).

Killifan

What do the plants have for nutrition, are they planted into a good substrate (peat or laterite) or just into plain gravel. They will be getting some food from the fish wastes but not exactly the right stuff for good growth, if needed a plant food for tropical tanks will give them a good boost.

Agree with Ira about the lights, not enough light then no growth.

The fluffy dark stuff is probably an algae, keep the water clean and feed the plants and this may slow the algae growth

Have a look here the articles show photos of some of the more common types of algae and how to control.

http://www.thekrib.com/Plants/Algae/

Mark

What do the plants have for nutrition, are they planted into a good substrate (peat or laterite) or just into plain gravel. They will be getting some food from the fish wastes but not exactly the right stuff for good growth, if needed a plant food for tropical tanks will give them a good boost.

Mark

Plants are just in a gravel. What is laterite?

Hi Killifan,

Welcome to the forum.

Plants need the following to grow and survive:

To Eat:- Nitrates, Potassum, Phosphates, various trace elements

To Breath:- CO2

To Energise:- Light

If any one of these is increased then the other 2 also have to be increased to meet the plants demands. The more of these 3 supplied the faster the plant will grow. Of course a limit is reached and different plant species need different amounts. Any excess that the plants don't use up will encourage algae to grow.