guppie needs help

Varina

Hi I am a novice and have just got my first community tropical tank set up and it seems I have a very unfriendly fish in my bunch my smallest guppie has had its tail eaten off, I don't have another tank to separate him will he survive (its been 24 hours) and can I help him he is hiding among the plants at the bottom of the tank........ :(

The tank is 137 litrs with a futon (i think thats the name) filter system in the tank there is 6 x neon - 2 x clown loaches - 4 x gourami - 2 x zebra - 1 x red fin shark - 4 x guppies (incl the tailess one) 3 x tetra and 1 cat fish not sure of name not a pretty fish is is black and white and stick to the side of the tank:)

How long has the tank been setup? Thats a lot of fish if the tank is new (i.e. less than a month old). A new tank takes time to cycle, which basically means the bacteria that eat the fish and food waste need to grow, if you add too many fish to quickly the water gets over loaded and it can kill or damage this fish.

If your tank water is ok and this fish isn't being hassled anymore it has a good chance of making it. It only take a few days for their fins to grow back.

Was unaware that you carn't put to many fish in at once, the pet shop did not tell me and I bought the wholeset up from them. I put in stress and something else for the water as told to by the shop on last thursday and put in the fish on Saturday......... am i going to loose all of them :cry:

What it means, Varina, is that you will need to do lots of partial water changes for the time it takes the tank to cycle. If you do a search on this site for this you will gets lots of information.

Have you any test kits to keep an eye on the ammonia and nitrItes? These are what are most toxic to the fish during this time.

Don't be afraid to have questions as most of us have been exactly where you are - with a tank full of fish before we hear about cycling.

I got home to find my guppie had passed on :cry: