A bit overwhelmed, please help?

kiwi101

Hi, I am totally new to fish so please bear with me while I try to make some sort of sense of all this...lol

The kids and I are keen to learn and we finally have an actual tank, small but hopefully alright to start us off.

Tank is only 40l ..Pretty sure it is this one here http://www.hollywoodfishfarm.co.nz/deta ... um/m/1015/ Ours measures pretty close and is branded BluePlanet, looks the same etc

We still need to clean it well and cycle it - I'm thinking the fishless cycling method from the beginners corner. What should I clean it with? (there is a bit of old algae I guess, from the previous owners and dust from storage). Can I fill with tap water prior to cycling? What brand/type of stuff do I use to add the ammonia? The guide says 'Pure household ammonia'..

Can anyone recommend what I should be getting to test the water, brands etc? Science minded child will love this part of the process.

What filter media should I be buying for this?

Do I need gravel/sand? What is safe/good and how much?

When we are ready for fish, we are hoping for something easy in the tropical range. Guppies seem to be popular (would I be right in thinking that we can get all males so no over population issues?) What can we mix with Guppies, or does anyone have other suggestions? The kids like the idea of some Tetra (Neon), Guppies and maybe a Bristlenose but I'm unsure if we have the space for all that since I know we need certain numbers of the community fish and have limited space.

Can someone please advise me if this heater is OK for this size and still safe (as far as you can tell from a pic) - its the stock one that came with the tank originally but it has burnt looking bits inside and not sure if it really is the right size.

20131007_162123_zps18a52afa.jpg

Anyone know where I could buy a new bulb for the light? Do we need to have a light? is it OK to have the light on overnight?

20131007_162148_zps9446f585.jpg