Daltons Pumice mix

TM

Thats what i am trying to find out. :D

Its not as dence as gravel, so will help with overall weight may even help with the filtration as there would be a larger surface area for bacteria to grow on.

Also can't find any other good substrate without spending a heap.

Dont get me started on substrates, lol ! :( I believe seachem do a filter media that looks distinctly like small pumice pebbles, so you may well be right on the filtration aspect. Depending on what fish you have would it not be a bit harsh though ?

I dont see any problems with using it.

Daltons propergating sand contains pumice nd i have been using that for a few years now.

Try it out, and then let us know :lol:

May do, the only problem i see is that it will be light so may be able to get pushed around a bit by fish and current.

Just hope it will hold the aquatic mix down.

. Depending on what fish you have would it not be a bit harsh though ?

It is round in shape, pumice is a bit like sand paper i spose but there are other substrates that could be worse, really sharp edges etc.

Hi

It's is dredging from the Waikato river..Just a bit heaver grade than builders sand and yes when washing if before it dried some pumus will float and then sink..

Particals here are 1mm to 3.5mm if the same as came from the old tuakau sand co...But think the same stuff...

I have it in all 124 tanks with u/g filters and a ploy material over filter to stop leaking through..5mm thick..

Advantage...Fine ..great for filter growth..Fine ,,so food cannot enter the biggest killer of fish..Fine..Stops fry being lost in waikamo caves..

Warning...With this and many sands/gravels used the PH may very well drop to ever below 4 PH..A bit of sea shell can buffer and hold over time..

And a PH Meter is on special from dick smiths for about 77 dollars or there abouts...

Cheers Phill

Hi