Your ideas for an 80L hexagonal tank?

tinytawnykitten

Hi, I am new to fish keeping. We started with a 60L rectangular tank in my son's room and there we have 2 angels, 2 platys, 6 black widow tetras, 2 dwarf gouramis and a bottom feeder type bloke. They have been good and happy for a while now and I have bought a second tank on Trade Me for our room. This is an 80L hexagonal one. (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing ... =121585355) and I had originally thought I would like to start a cichlid tank but having posted on the cichlid thread I have a few replies saying that the tank is too small for cichlids. So I am hoping for some ideas about what I you think I should set up this tank as? I love my community tank and if I can't have cichlids then should I set up another community? How can I make it different from the other one? My favourite fish at the moment are angels (although I am told they are not the height of fish fashion!) and I love the gouramis. I am very open to suggestions! :D

There are some smaller cichlids that would be fine for that size tank, and peacefull enough to have other community fish in there too.

A few Kribensis and an assortment of other fish would be fine. Your angels will be OK in there for a while, until they get too big. Mix in some small loaches or cory catfish and maybe a little bristlenose pleco.

Angels are OK, but they grow big and tend to start nibbling on the smaller fish. So if you can seperate the tougher ones into one tank and leave the smaller tetras and platys in the small tank.

Of course all it really means if you have started down the Multi-tank route :lol:

Cheers

Ian

Just thought I'd raise a question here, but being Hexagonal, I'm guessing that it would be quite tall (deep) rather than long - hence a smaller surface area.

Since most stocking ratios/calculations are done based on surface area it wouldn't be able to take as many fish as say a rectangular 100L tank?