what are these black marks?

Whiskas

The comet at work has suddenly developed these black marks and his breathing is laboured. I think he will die but i would like to know what is/was wrong with him. I have treated him with Melafix and quarantined him. I wil be keeping a close eye on the other fish.

The black marks look kinda like the black mould that grows in wet areas. I searhced on the net to no avail and the closest i got was Black smaudge disease wich they didn't supply much info on. Will try to get a pic.

I'm no expert by any means, but when I was a kid with goldfish I remember that black areas meant lack of oxygen. While you wait for more qualified responses, you might want to try and increase oxygen in the water e.g. air stone/pump

Not saying thats what it is, just something I remembered.

that could make sense cos the weather and water has been warmer than usual and that means less ozygen in hte tank. Though i would have thought that the other fish would also show some signs of lacking ozxygen.

The fluval filter also aerates the water by blowing bubbles into the water.

Unfortunately he died last nite :( I buried him this morning but before i did i took some pix of the black marks so they may be identified and i can keep an eye on the other fish plus possibly find out what causes it and how to fix it. I couldn't get a digital camera to take the pics when he was a live, So please do not be offended by the photos of poor dead Fish that are to follow:

298017343a3345747350b787747787l.jpg

298017343a3345746714b17499128l.jpg

The marks hav faded a lil since he died but they are just visible there behind his fin. Is it possible are a result of sickness or another symptom due to something else? We have no idea wat caused his death and would like some idea.

When I first saw that pic I went 'eww' but really not that bad, I fed our Oscar a dead neon that was missing an eye yesterday, so dont know what I'm ewwing about.