Is heater not strong enough??

Ninja turtle

I assume you have tried turning the heater up, and arn't just believeing what the dial says on the heater, they are oftem wrong. Also is there plently of water movement round the heater?? it could just be heating the water round itself and turning off. I would have through 50w would be ok for 50 liters but if he tank is only half full so you have a large glass surface to water area and no tops on the tank it might be letting too much heat out. Is the heater on alot?

Yes the heater on all the time, the tank is half full, not really any water movement by heater apart from the undergravel fitler movement, I do have a glass lid for the tank but wasn't sure if it was a good idea to use as the turtles need light and though the glass lid would stop the turtles getting their light. I am only new to turtles and the book don't say much.

Taht heater is big enough for that amount of water

Do you have a thermometer

Also the temp will depend on outside factor

Is there tank subject to really cold areas i.e outside or does it get really cold where the tank is

Have the lid on the tank and straight glass will not stop the light coming through

The glass will stop the UV light which the turtles need otherwise their shells go soft. Buut this doesn't mater unless you have a light that puts out the correct light in the first place. I used to let my turtle swim outside in a plastic paddling pool for a few hours each week, I think this helped but I didn't realise he had grown enough to get over the side until he disappeared one day :-(

Exposure to natural is the best way for your turtle to produce enough Vitamin D3 which is what helps keep the shell hard

If your feeding a high quality Turtle food then vitamin D3 wont be a problem as they are supplimented in the food

The Uv light will only emmit UV for around 3 months

Feed a quality food and get some natural sunlight into him and everything will be great