tels tank

tel

• Replies 140
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not very experienced with this only cycled a few times but have tried lights on, and lights off. There seems to be a different type of skimmate with lights on I think it's because with lights on, as nutrients enter the water column they can be sequestered by unicelled algae or other photosynthetic floating organisms which can then be skimmed.

However Layton does have a point that allowing algae to grow on the rock is going to retain some nutrients.

What I did a few months ago when I cycled some rock was try to get the best of both worlds, piling up the rock at one end of the tank, and lit the other end to try & provide light for floating phosphate munching organisms. Don't really know if it worked but it didn't do any harm and the rocks stayed nice & white.

whoohoo, 1st sign of purple so nitrite registering for the 1st time. pretty tame for all you experienced reefers i spose :) . decided to leave lights off and that has arrested any more algie growth. lights in pic are t5s intended for my sump so id better get serious about some replacements, needed in about 5ish weeks

If you leave the lights off over the next two or three weeks you should notice a lot of detritus come out of the rocks.

This is the sign that denitrifying bacteria are starting to do their thing. They will clean the base rock of a lot phosphate, which will mean there should be less potential for issues with algae in the future.

Blow the rocks down with a powerhead, and siphon out any piles which collect. I'd be keeping BB during this process it's easier to remove the stuff because you can see it. You can always add sand after it's finished.

It's pretty amazing to see the crap that comes out of dry base rock even without any fish and coral in the tank.

Layton