Help!!! VERY STRESSED Fish

AquaMum

Hi,

I'm new here and I'm new to caring for fish and I'm praying somebody can help!!

Anyway the day before yesterday I bought a 30Ltr Jebo R338 dimensions 40Hx25Wx40L, and not knowing anything about keeping fish I asked the sales assistant how many fish it would hold.........she said about 10, so I thought I would be safe with 4 - 2 Nymphs a Blackmoor and a comet. Its not going well :( they were all majorly stressed by this afternoon and at the top of tank gasping for air (I presume).

So I didn't know what to do, the water was smelly so I did a partial water change and I think I had over fed them as bits of food were floating around after the new water was added. This didn't help much so I have removed 2 of the fish from the tank and they are currently in temporary accomadation (a huge square bucket with a width and breadth similar to the tank). Now the two in the bucket are looking quite relaxed (I filled the bucket with the water I took out of the tank) and doing what goldfish do.......not a lot! But the two left in the tank are still really stressed, one is at the top of the tank trying to get air and the other is darting from the top of the tank to the bottom.....and keeps disapearing behind the top of the pump and just sitting up there.....

Please help me, I don't want my wee fish to die :cry:

Ohh and when I changed the water I put in the aqua plus and the cyle chemicals.....

What am I doing wronge and how can I fix it????

if the water is smelly after 2 days something is wrong.

is the filter working? has something else got stuck in the tank or filter that should not be there?did you put anything else in the tank?eg;stones not washed,or something that will raise your ph levels through the roof.

im not to good on goldfish but there is always a reason.