How to tell when she'll drop..

WTM

Hi all

Well it appears one of our platties had a "gentleman friend" while awaiting purchase (about 2 weeks ago), and is looking a little rotund with a gravid spot forming. We'd like to actually like to try and save the fry and raise them (for experience).

The question really is, when should the female go into a breeding trap? I have no experience with this, and I don't really want to leave her in the trap longer than I need to, but on the other hand..? At least we can time her after this lot, but at the moment we have no idea when she fell pregnant..

Any advice, or pictures, would be great?

Thanks

WTM

Hi WTM,

Bit hard to tell the "exact moment".. but the darker the gravid spot.. the closer she is to dropping.

Breeding traps can be very stressful for some fish... and even reduce birth numbers, and the more natural way of having lots of fine leaved plants in your tank would be a better option... depending on the other fish you might have in the tank.. which you don't mention.

If you do a search in the Livebearer section, there's bound to be a few pics there.. and I seem to remember one or two of them actually dropping the fry.

She might not drop the full lot all at once BTW.. and could drop them over several days depending on conditions and how she feels :)

Take care now .

Bill.

hi WTM,

when a livebearer is about a drop. her vent will be open. it actually becomes nearly vertical ifyou observe closely. this is the method i use, if i see a platy like tat in the picture shown. i would put her in a trap, let her drop, collect the babies and release the mother. this wont stress the female too much as i only leave her in there for 1-2 days.

ballon-Platy.jpg

due date is near, keep an eye on her.

fc-20a.jpg

dropping soon, notice the gravid spot vent becomes vertical a bit.

platys_lune.jpg

she ready as her vent is very straight, put her in the trap, will be dropping in 1 -2 days.