A little help for the new gal? please?

LordOfTheRings

Hey people. How ya doin?

OK, here's the thing. I scored me a tank the other day. It's 2ft x 15in x 1ft or somewhere there abouts.

I haven't any clue about what I could put in it or how many or how large or anything. I did see a cute little goldfish with one eye in a pet shop which i wouldn't mind having. What else could I put in with it? and how many?

And what planty stuff could I stick in there? Do I need a particular kind of plant if I'm gunna have different kinds of fish? Do I need any plant at all?

All advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers. :wink: <- Isn't that just the cutest little smiley thing? Aww!

Hey there,

Um, that's a bigger question than you realize....

I'm a newbie myself, so I'm not particularly qualified to answer, but that won't stop me trying.

It depends on what level of commitment you want. Keeping tropical fish (as opposed to coldwater fish like goldfish) is by no means hard (by all accounts), but it does help to have a little bit of knowledge, and the requisite gear.

Do you have a filter? A light? A heater? Are you prepared to buy them if you don't? The answer to these questions effects the answer to your question.

The 'secret' to keeping fish (from what I can tell) is keeping good water. If the temperature, acidity, and all the levels are 'good' (ie. appropriate to the fish you have), the fish will be happy. The filter is pretty important, not just to remove the big bits of gunk from the water, but to house good bacteria that eat the nasty fish-killing chemicals that build up over time.