How to make sump for existing tank?

chris_kerryn

Right, I have started a new string for this so hopefully more people will read this. I want to make a sump for my existing tank.

I have existing 75l tank with existing trickle filter and an external hang on tank skimmer which I retrofitted. skimmer discharges into trickle filter, which is backwards I know but can't do much about that.

Not happy with the level of treatment, filtration that Im getting.

I've got it pretty much sorted how to set it up. I have a 30l container that is about as big as I can get in my cabinet. Biggest problem is getting the water out of the tank in a safe and consistent manner. I know the best way is with an overflow weir with a hole drilled so it only drains as fast as it comes in. Note. The tank is operational so I have been advised constructing an overflow weir with hole in the tank would be very risky.

Being an engineer, I am convinced there is a solution short of emptying tank and starting again. Is there?

I could probably do something about 100mm down from the top. siliconing something at this level would probably be ok for a day. thats about how far it goes down when I do a water change.

A syphon has been mentioned, but this could be as risky having a pump at each end (one in tank and one in sump)

also drilling a hole in an existing tank has also been discouraged.

Has anyone done it? I could have the water below the level of the hole but still sounds difficult, and how do you do it.

I have thought about building an overflow box say 100 x 100x 100 in the corner as I would for a normal overflow, and possibly rig some sort of syphon there. It cannot drain the tank, but if you lose the syphon some how or if the flow rate alters it would be impossible to prevent the tank from flooding as Pies also suggested.

3 months into it and I have already outgrown my poor little tank.