what's a good filter for planted tank?

Hobbit

Hi, I'm new to fnzas and fishkeeping, I live across the tasman. :o I've read so much regarding the keeping of fish my head hurts :evil:

Basically I don't want to blow the budget on a $4oo filter when I have contrary advice telling me a UGF will be okay. Then elsewhere saying it's no good for a planted tank...... I will be keeping rainbows (boesemani) some cories, clowns loaches once the tank is on its way (kuhli okay for a planted tank?) but havent covered the top of the tank yet any suggestions coz I love the bottom dwellers and rainbows haven't thought about the top of the tank ( I have no idea)??? But back to the point what should I use for filtration? A cannister? a hang on the side?? a sponge??? a ugf???? Have been a passive user for the past couple of weeks but realised my questions won't be answered unless I ask LOL Oh its a 250l tank :) Thanks also to Pegusas :roll: hehhehee

Would like to congratulate you all on a great forum

Regards Campbell

Personally I would go for a cannister or wet/dry filter.

Does depend a bit on what you define as a planted tank however. You could have a very nice tank with an undergravel filter and using plants attached to stones and/or driftwood. The various types of java fern ( normal, "tropica" and "windelov"), Bolbitis fern, and perhaps Anubias nana as well as java moss and riccia attached to some small stones in a "limited" area of the tank. On top of that you could pot a "few" plants and hide them behind the wood and rock.

Welcome to the fishroom Campbell :D

I have never had trouble with UGFs and have had well planted tanks despite many saying they are no good for plants. Make sure you have a good depth of gravel over them though.

My rainbows (boesemani, Mccullochii, melanistrus, blue dwarfs) swim all over the place.

Kuhlis are fine in a planted tank.

• 3 weeks later...