about my new fish clown tang.....

Daniel_Duan

i bought a small clown tang yesterday. that is about 6cm long. i found some information about the fish from internet. it said that clown tang is very difficult to keep, and they needs much space to swim....my god@!my tank is not big, and i am not a expert. is there any one who kept this kind of fish before?and can you please tell me how to keep my fish?

It will definately needs a larger tank than that, Clown tangs are notoriously agressive, especially to any new addtions to the tank. Generally if you want to keep one, it would be the very last fish you add to your tank. Do you live in ChCh by any chance?

There are several reasons why Clown tangs are considered difficult to keep. First they are often caught with cyanide, meaning they die slowly of cyanide poisoning. And second people do not feed them the correct diet. Like all tangs, they are heavy feeders and require a lot of vegetable material to remain healthy.

If you get these two problems sorted they are not particularly diffucult to keep. But yes, it will require a larger tank. I think a 6 foot tank is minimum for the optimum lifespan of the fish.

Layton

thank you very much for your suggestion! but i don't want to move every thing to a new larger tank, because that will be much troublesome. maybe i will try to catch the fish and sell it.but hard to catch! i don't know how to deal with the first problem as you said, and about the second problem it is also a dilemma for me, becasue i don't want to the fish grow so fast but the fish is a heavy feeder. do you have any idea about how to catch a tang fish from a reef tank? or should i just leave the fish in my tank and see how it will be?

thank you very much! by the way, i live in Auckland city.

did you purchase it from a shop?

If you did i would take it back as they should have given you better advice as they are hard to keep and they need a lot of feeding.