Visit to a pet market in Tainjin, China

mcarver

28th March 2008

This maybe of some interest to some of the members here. it is part of an email that I sent to my family in New Zealand.

Yesterday we visited the pet market mainly because I’ve been wanting to buy Sammi’s cockatoo (I can him Mini Monster) some sort of toy or bell to play with so that he doesn’t get too bored when there is no one home. The market is in a 3 story building each floor having numerous small shops each specializing in a particular thing. Probably about 70% of the shops sold some sort of aquatic type of equipment, pet or flowers and pot plants. A large aquarium approximately 1m x .600m x .500m, complete with stand, heater, lighting, and filter system costs about N.Z. $200. There were complete aquarium setups up to about 2.5 meters long on sale. I am no expert in tropical fish having only kept cold water varieties in the past. They seemed to have many tropical fish species that I have never seen before and a lot being sold are of a large size. The golden dragon fish are very popular as the Chinese believe that if you own one, money will come to the house. It also seems for them the bigger the better. A large specimen cost about 35,000 Yuan, that’s approx N.Z. $6,500. When you consider that a labouring job pays about 1,200 Yuan a month, it shows the high regard the Chinese hold for these fish.