At last, a NZ fishroom

Fatman

It has taken a while but I have found this Fishroom YAY :P

I was begining to think that there were no clubs/groups or other people who were interested in fish keeping here in NZ.

I am only new to the wierd and wide world of aquariums, my tank is 4 months old 36"x18"x18 and i have a smaller 60 ltr tank for my ruby shark and siamiese fighting fish ( regrowing his finns after being savaged in the larger tank )

The current contents are

Buen'os aries tetras 5

Black tetra 10

2 angles, one of which hasn't been eating for about 2 weeks, must be surviving on the plants.

Pleco 1

1 rainbow and 1 silver shark

And my favourite fish 7 clown loaches, as i write this they are attacking and gobbling down some letuce, i dont have any cucumber so that will have to do then tonight :)

Breeding is the goal with these fish but a bigger tank is needed and alot of research

One persom overseas found their clowns changed color and spawing displays were seen at the onset of a rain storm in his area and another noticed similar when he droped the water temp a couple of degrees over a couple of days or so,

I hopeing to try and duplicate the river envroment (sp) as close as possible, ill keep you all informed as i start to get things up and running for this venture.

Looks like im going to be busy learning about making tanks :o

Im also male and 40 yo, :roll:

still ,, enough from me, i look foward to comunicating with you all in the future and learning as much as i can from the wisdom and experence of the members here.

Cheers

terry

Welcome Fatman, I thought the same when I came across this site.

How is the selection of fish stores/pet shops down in Christshurch. Do you use the Animates store Down there. I have been to the Wellington one quite often and would like to know what you think of the Chch one.

There are about 6 shops that i know of, one is a major importer but I have a few reservations about the quality of their fish.