fluval help plz

Doug

hi guys

I just got all the hoses and fittings for my second hand fluval 303, but I cant get it to suck any water, any ideas?

does it need to be filled with water first?

ho many seals should there be? I have 2 on one unit and the "parts" unit only has one

at a loss as to what should be done as I have never used a canister filter before.

Doug

I was tying that but I didnt have the lung power for the metre and a half long hose.

kept getting almost there and then running out of breath.

then I read that the filter should be below the water level, everything is so much clearer when you see it with hindsight.

Doug

You're doing something wrong if you have to suck the water a meter and a half high. All you need to do is get it up and over the back of the tank until it starts draining into the cannister. An asthmatic mouse should be able to handle that.:)

I fill up the filter and then put it on the floor or where ever you want it to go then I open the switch on the intake and out, then I hold one up in the air and (i can't remember if its the in or out I pore the water down but the one that would be sucking the water) I pore water down the pipe and it will fill up the other hose and get all the air bubbles out of the filter which are the biggest problem i found.

Note when filling up the pipe it has to be higher in the air to the other one to fill it up properly. :wink:

Well I hope this helps :lol:

Good luck :wink: as I think i made that sound confusing hehe

Sure there is sucking, your way sucks :), you could just give a quick suck on the hose and it'll suck water into the cannister instead of trying to pour watter down the hose and if you suck at that spilling all over. That'd suck and then you'd have a damp smelly sucky carpet which would have been avoided if you'd just sucked on the hose. :lol: