Novice here

calvin

Hi All,

I have the following setup:

30Gal Tank (900x250x500) Glass

Eheim Classic Filter (2213)

Protein Skimmer

201 Powerhead

Aqua One 36” light (One blue & 1 White tube)

Livestock

Coral Beauty

Yellow Tang

Bi-color blenny

Occilarus Clown Fish

Cleaner Shrimp

Green Stap Polyp

Bubble Coral

I have had the tank for about 4 ½ months now. The fish were added about 4 weeks ago. I had a white anemone for the clown, but unfortunately the thing got into the powerhead the I have. The retailer never told me about the protection that I need to add.

I have noticed in the past 2 weeks that I have some algae growing again. I will be changing the fine sponge in the filter this evening. Any other ideas???? Help with all the livestock will be highly appreciated. The more I can learn the better.

Calvin - Where to start...

I think you posted because there is algae starting and you don't want the tank to get messed up. Algae is related to water quality, and water quality is at the crux of keeping a good aquarium. But there is so much to learn/know, it's impossible to put it all in one post.

One important thing is phosphate control. Every time you feed, some phosphate is added to the tank, and you must have a means in place to remove the phosphate. Phosphate fuels the algae and also harms the tank in other ways. Much of keeping a successful tank revolves around keeping phosphate at the correct level. Keep the levels right and algae will not be a problem.

I'd recommend going to this site http://reefcentral.com/ and using their search engine to search the word phosphate.

But it's a huge subject. You will not get it all sorted in 5 minutes, rather, it will take weeks or months of reading before you have enough knowledge to implement a good plan for phosphate control.

Others here will have more to add also, but from me anyway, Good Luck!

As Wasp has said, many things to consider.