Newbie possible going to the salty side :)

jolliolli

Hey guys,

Well i've been browsing the salty section for a couple of months now and am thinking about buying a marine setup and need lots of advice as i'll be completely new to the saltwater side of things.

Currently i have two freshwater tanks, a Juwel Rio 300 4ft Community tank and a Aqua One 180 Discus tank. i'm looking at buying an existing marine reef setup (400L) which has been running for around 2 1/2 years and comes with all the appropriate gear (skimmer, pumps, lights ,sump, corals and fish). My biggest question is how will I go about transporting the livestock etc. Ideally i'd like to clean the tank up prior to setup and also change the coarse coral sand over to a finer sand, but i'm worried about what i would do with the corals, fish and livestock during this time. Would i be ok to put the liverock and corals in to a large bin of saltwater temporarily. Do I need any sort of pumps/circulation running on it and how long would i be ok to keep the liverock like this. Then there are the fish... what to do with them there are a couple of clowns, clam, tang. I have spare small tanks with built-in filtration, could i fill this up with existing salt water run it as a bare-bottom tank and put the fish in there short-term?

I'm going to the library today to try and find any helpful books on setup but if anyone has any advice that would be great :). At the moment its still only a possibility but if i do decide to take the plunge i want to be prepared!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic