First big display tank! (Pic heavy) Advice?

critter_crazy

Hi all :D

So I'm still fairly new at this, and so far I've only had a few nano tanks, and a 2ft tank. Yesterday i took the plunge and brought my first proper display tank and got a great deal. It's an AR830 so only 160 odd L, but still much bigger than anything I've had.

I was thinking I'd use silica sand as I've already got a big bag lying around, but now I'm thinking a fine darkish pebble would be nicer?

I'm going for a natural look with lots of driftwood, and a decent array of plants.

I like the idea of having a few really nice fish and then a large school of smaller fish. I also want fish on all 3 levels.

Ok so here's my "dream team" for stocking. Obviously wouldnt add them all at once and would make sure tanks fully cycled first.

2 Blue Ram

2 Bolivian Ram

2 Agassizi

20-30 Neon Tetra (however many I can have)

2 L140 (big band tiger plec)

and 6 or so Sterbai corys

Is this too much? Will they go well? Am I dreaming? I've tried researching but It's always nice to get opinions :spop:

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Less cichlids. Or maybe have one male to a harem of females? Ask someone who knows their cichlids on here. Hatchet fish are cool, maybe whiptail cats?

Darker substrate is nicer IMO, el natural look is a winner too. I hate fake plants etc, too tacky. If you go to HFF albany they have a tank similar to what you have I think all set up, could inspire you?

At a glance I'd worry that'd be too much fish and, as Fruju mentioned, too many cichlids. But you could start small and re-asses the situation as time goes on, (say, once you've got 10 neons, 2 rams and the cories?).

Otherwise it looks like you've picked some pretty fish, (though I'm not usually a neon fan), and perhaps you could look at some killies for the top layer if you cut a few of the other fishies out?

Darker substrate is supposed to help bring out brighter colours in fish, I think.