Fish are dying

carrie52

Hello, I have been given the task of looking after my son's tropical fish, which I've been doing for the past 3 months without any problems. Now suddenly 2 have died this week, a red tailed shark and a albino shark. They both had wedged themselves between (1) a jar that had a baby plecostomus and (2) the thermostat. Prior to their dying they have both been swiming sideways or lying in their hollow plastic log upside down!

Being new to this, it didn't occur to me that there just might be something wrong. Can anyone throw any light on what is going wrong, please.

Many thanks

Carol

I don't know what's wrong with them, I'm just learning myself. But if you haven't done so already, I would start doing some water changes. Perhaps about 20% a day for few days. If this is too much I am sure someone more knowledgeable will correct me.

You probably alredy know this but if you use tap water, you should also use a chlorine remover.

Cheers

Judy

Hi thanks for suggestions, yes have done complete water changes every couple of weeks since we've had them. taken filter out and scrubbed, removed all the stones and washed in running water (under the shower!)

scrubbed all resting/hiding rocks etc. We are on rain water, so no added chemicals. did a Ph test today after cleaning tank out yet again that was 7

Was feeding a type of food that had dried up wee shrimps in it, (have thrown that out now) They were quite pot bellied.....have I been overfeeding? I feed a pinch about 5 times a day that's what my son was giving them.

Thanks again

Carol

When you cleaned the filter material under the shower, was the water hot or cold? Cold water kills the beneficial (nitrifying) bacteria that keeps your fish from dying of ammonia or nitrite poisoning.

Could've been overfeeding but doesn't sound too bad, I feed mine usually just twice a day, some do it once every two days or less. Water changes every week would be more beneficial to feeding that often.