Changing my tank around completely

editkid

Being a beginner I made some mistakes in my first tank. It's too dark, has snails, not the right gravel, etc. I'd like to redo my established tank with 12 fish in it.

So I'm getting another tank, probably a little smaller, as a temporary home while I rejig my main tank.

I have a bunch of questions about the move:

a) Do I use water from my existing tank to fill up the temporary tank?

b) Do I need to put gravel in the temporary tank?

c) My filter - and media - will move from my main tank to the temporary tank and back, along with the fish?

d) How do I best catch all my fish? Take half the water and my big piece of driftwood out before catching them?

e) I don't need to condition the fish when introducing them into the temp tank if the water stays the same, right?

And a bunch of questions about setting up a new tank:

f) I'm thinking of using white sand, rocks, moss and possibly a few hardy plants. In all a much more transparent tank look. My current tank is a jungle of wood, dark gravel and lots of plants. Will this change of environment freak out my fish badly? Guess its just like being taken from the shop to a new tank?

g) Anyone have any good leads for white sand or nice rocks?

h) I'd like to hide the blue rubber tubes of my air bubbles. Any tips?

Thanks for y'r help! :bow:

1. Yes use the same water

2. No you do not need gravel but if you have white poly under it the fish will go very pale. Try to sit it on something dark.

3. Yes move fiter and media across with the fish

4. Remove as much water as possible first into the other tank. Remove all ornaments etc so nothing to catch the nets on.

5. Right

New tank

Dark gravel is actually good and better for the fish. They colour up more and feel more secure. A fish likes to blend in with its surroundings, especially the substrate, so they are harder to see by prey above.