Beginners Must Have Items

jasper

Howdy all,

I am from Melbourne Oz... I am completely new to this hobby and was wondering if anyone could provide me with an essentials items list for begginers eg.. Ph Kit, glass scrubber etc...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Ps. I have a Aqua one AR-980 (empty..until I can understand require :roll: ments a little more.)

your tank obviously has a filter & lights. The next must have would be a heater. I have a similar size tank & have two 150w heaters instead of one larger one. Putting one at either end will heat more evenly IMO. you can put stones or gravel in the bottom as substrate & what ever else you want to aquascape your tank with. you may want to add wood to soften the water but that depends on what type of fish you are going to keep. after that i would get a thermometer & PH kit to monitor water conditions. when you add fish you will need food that suits them. then water conditioner for water changes that you should do weekly with about 25% changed. for that you will need a syphon.

Things you have... a decent sized tank, filter and lights - so far so good. Bigger tanks are actually easier to look after than small ones. Things happen slower etc.

Things you WILL need

Dont know if your tank comes with a heater or not, you will want one if you are keeping tropicals. Goldfish or White Cloud Mountain Minnows will be OK without one.

Thermometer - to check and adjust the heater.

Siphon and a bucket - to suck out water when changing it and vacumn up the crud that gathers in the gravel.

Net - eventually you will want to to catch fish when you move them around.

Magnetic glass cleaner - handy if you dont have a Pleco to clean the glass for you. If you do have a pleco then you WILL need the siphon tube, trust me on that one.

Fish food - depends what fish you are getting, but most common fish that a beginner should get will eat normal flake food. Catfish and loaches will want sinking pellets or tablets.